Images in sigline?

What would you like to see on this website? How can we provide better service for you? Tell us here!

Moderator: Dave Miller

Images in sigline?

Postby Wolfie » Sat Oct 16, 2004 2:00 pm

CJ,

I've attempted to add an image to my signature line but it appears as a link rather than the image showing. I'm guessing it has to be in BB code rather than HTML?

I'd appreciate your thoughts. Thanks. :)
Fred and Shirl - Night Wolf Entertainment
National Membership Director, USODJA.

Image
User avatar
Wolfie
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Hartly, DE

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby audiopulse » Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:02 pm

Hey Wolfie...

It worked for me.....

this is the code I used...

{img}http://www.audiopulse.net/Animationlogo3.gif{/img}

Change these { } into these [ ]

Dave
User avatar
audiopulse
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:56 pm
Location: Joplin, MO

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby CJ Greiner » Sun Oct 17, 2004 2:23 am

Dave's got it!
----------------

Here's an example of what I use everywhere but here:

Code: Select all
»» CJ Greiner
Smithfield, VA

[url=http://www.smithfieldentertainment.com/][img]http://www.smithfieldentertainment.com/images/chat/dancelights-s.jpg[/img]
SmithfieldEntertainment.com[/url]
[url=http://www.djgold.com][img]http://www.djgold.com/images/logo/djgoldlogo_65x25.gif[/img] DJGold.com  [img]http://www.djgold.com/talk/images/smiles/yeah.gif[/img][/url]

Which looks like:
»» CJ Greiner
Smithfield, VA

[url=http://www.smithfieldentertainment.com/]Image
SmithfieldEntertainment.com[/url]
Image DJGold.com Image


So yes: use bbCode. If you want an easy way to do it, when you reply to this post, you can open your edit profile in a separate window by clicking here:
http://www.djgold.com/talk/profile.php?mode=editprofile

Then make your signature here in this post by clicking "reply" then clicking "preview" until you have it just right (that allows you to use the bbCode controls), then copy-and-past it to the signature block in the profile window. Done!

Remember: signature lengths must be less than 255 characters.
>> CJ Greiner
Website Administrator

Image
www.SmithfieldEntertainment.com
www.SilverStarDJs.com
User avatar
CJ Greiner
Site Owner
Site Owner
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:21 am
Location: Smithfield, VA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby audiopulse » Sun Oct 17, 2004 5:49 am

Hey CJ,

What do you think of my custom Logo?? I just finished making that one yesterday (friday)...


Dave
User avatar
audiopulse
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:56 pm
Location: Joplin, MO

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby CJ Greiner » Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:16 am

Hey Dave -- it's very cool! Especially with the colors that look like neon changing color... 8)


------------------
Here's an option for you: Minimize the size of the image so that people on dialup don't spend as long downloading it.

Right now, your image takes about 73kBytes. Even the banners used for advertising usually only take up between 10 to 20kBytes (not all, but most.)

Part of the problem is that it takes 24 different images for your logo to actually create that color-changing effect. If each of those individual images haven't been size-optimized, then the final .gif will be huge.

I think if you took each of the individual colorsplash images and processed them with Netmechanic's Image Optimizer, that could help.
http://www.netmechanic.com/GIFBot/optimize-graphic.htm

For people with cable... it just won't matter!

I like the effect -- it's almost like one of these:
[url=http://www.pssl.com/bitemdetail.tpl?eqint_KeyIDdata=9355&UID=2004100707595069]Image
RACKLIGHT CHAMELEON COLOR SHIFTING LIGHT BAR[/url]

8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)
>> CJ Greiner
Website Administrator

Image
www.SmithfieldEntertainment.com
www.SilverStarDJs.com
User avatar
CJ Greiner
Site Owner
Site Owner
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:21 am
Location: Smithfield, VA

Postby Wolfie » Sun Oct 17, 2004 3:14 pm

Thanks, guys.

I've added the image code to the signature line. Let's see if it works...

Edit: Seems to be working now. The URL of the previous image wasn't loading for some reason. Note to Admin - if this image is too large or seems to slow the page loads down, let me know and I'll remove it.

Thanks again! :)
Fred and Shirl - Night Wolf Entertainment
National Membership Director, USODJA.

Image
User avatar
Wolfie
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Hartly, DE

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby audiopulse » Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:49 pm

Hey Wolfie, I'm gettin the dreaded red X on your image??? I tried refreshing, still red X ???

Dave
User avatar
audiopulse
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:56 pm
Location: Joplin, MO

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby CJ Greiner » Sun Oct 17, 2004 5:23 pm

Me too...???

:arrow: Image
>> CJ Greiner
Website Administrator

Image
www.SmithfieldEntertainment.com
www.SilverStarDJs.com
User avatar
CJ Greiner
Site Owner
Site Owner
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:21 am
Location: Smithfield, VA

Postby Wolfie » Sun Oct 17, 2004 6:36 pm

That's odd... the image shows up for me. It's on our Halsoft member site and they tend to have link issues at times.

I probably ought to place the thing on our website and link it from there...
Fred and Shirl - Night Wolf Entertainment
National Membership Director, USODJA.

Image
User avatar
Wolfie
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Hartly, DE

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby CJ Greiner » Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:30 pm

Wolfie, I just checked, and it is the correct link.

The issue is with your provider: They'll allow you to view the image by itself or in a page on their server... but not in a page that's from a different server (DJGold for example).

The reason YOU can see it is because it's already in your browser's cache. If you cleared your browser's cache, you'd see it as we see it: as a red X.

If you can put it on another server somewhere, that'll work.
If you can't do that, I'll be glad to put it on our server for you.

Let me know!

:lol:
>> CJ Greiner
Website Administrator

Image
www.SmithfieldEntertainment.com
www.SilverStarDJs.com
User avatar
CJ Greiner
Site Owner
Site Owner
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:21 am
Location: Smithfield, VA

Postby Wolfie » Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:55 pm

Thanks, CJ.

I'll ask Shirl to put the image on our business website. We can put it on one of our Comcast homepages as well and see how that works.

Let me see what we can do...
Fred and Shirl - Night Wolf Entertainment
National Membership Director, USODJA.

Image
User avatar
Wolfie
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Hartly, DE

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby audiopulse » Tue Oct 19, 2004 4:51 am

Hey Wolfie...

I'll host the image for ya bro if ya want me to... I already put it ont my server if ya want to use the link....

Use this:

{img}http://www.audiopulse.net/images/1NWElogo.jpg{/img}

Change the { } to [ ] and it will work...

it will appear like this...

Image


Dave
User avatar
audiopulse
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:56 pm
Location: Joplin, MO

Postby Wolfie » Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:55 pm

Thank you, Dave. :)

Shirl got in to our Comcast storage bin and placed the image in there. I've updated the address in my sigline and it appears for me.

Can anyone else see it?
Fred and Shirl - Night Wolf Entertainment
National Membership Director, USODJA.

Image
User avatar
Wolfie
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Hartly, DE

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby CJ Greiner » Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:58 pm

It looks great to me!
>> CJ Greiner
Website Administrator

Image
www.SmithfieldEntertainment.com
www.SilverStarDJs.com
User avatar
CJ Greiner
Site Owner
Site Owner
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:21 am
Location: Smithfield, VA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby djmc » Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:10 am

testing signature
User avatar
djmc
Senior Gold Member
Senior Gold Member
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby djmc » Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:14 am

testing again
Non-cheesy Disc Jockey services for Sacramento WeddingsImage
User avatar
djmc
Senior Gold Member
Senior Gold Member
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby djmc » Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:23 am

and once again
Non-cheesy Disc Jockey services for Sacramento WeddingsImage
User avatar
djmc
Senior Gold Member
Senior Gold Member
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby CJ Greiner » Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:17 am

If you open the "Edit Profile" link in a separate window, you can keep updating, then checking it here by selecting "Preview" in this window until it looks right!
http://start.djgold.com/talk/profile.ph ... ditprofile

Let me know if you need help making something work.

:idea:
>> CJ Greiner
Website Administrator

Image
www.SmithfieldEntertainment.com
www.SilverStarDJs.com
User avatar
CJ Greiner
Site Owner
Site Owner
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:21 am
Location: Smithfield, VA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby djmc » Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:29 am

are you implying that I am not functioning properly? LOL
Non-cheesy Disc Jockey services for Sacramento WeddingsImage
User avatar
djmc
Senior Gold Member
Senior Gold Member
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Images in sigline?

Postby Toneman » Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm

THIS IS GREAT......
I just figured out how to put an inmage in the signture line......

:D :D

Image

Toneman
Trademark Entertainment
User avatar
Toneman
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Kennewick, WA

Next

Return to Member Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron