Tractor Dj Software??

Many DJ's are "switching up" to computers as the new way to DJ. They provide near-instant access to large song lists and can be integrated to control video and DMX lighting.

Moderator: Dave Miller

Tractor Dj Software??

Postby djdre » Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:10 pm

I am just getting started I have my new laptop and I am wondering as to which dj software to use I have seen pcdj red used but very little. I went to Guitar center and they have tractor and I have never heard of it. I need some help in choosing which one I should go with. any help would be gretly appreciated Thank you!!
djdre

Postby dokai » Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:22 pm

I've used PCDJ Red for years and had pretty good luck with it. A few months ago I played with Virtual DJ at the Mobile Beat show in Niagra Falls, and was very impressed with it. I'd put both of those on my "must try" list, but the main thing is to try a LOT of them. They all have their good points and bad points. Find which one works best for YOU.

There are several other threads here where you can read reviews and opinions on the software. Just use the "search" function and you should be able to come up with them. But nothing beats actually playing with the software for a while. Good luck!
"You are what you do when it counts."
dokai
Gold Premium Member
Gold Premium Member

Postby Dave Miller » Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:42 pm

Part of it depends upon which platform you are on, and whether or not you're planning on doing beat mixing.

Traktor is one of the few DJ programs that is available for both Mac & PC. It got high praise in Apple's e-zine a few years back, and is the back end for Stanton's virtual turntable system. It has tons of features that are attrative to the club mix jock. However, it is very complex.

If you're primarily going to line up a bunch of song and let play, and other simple stuff, you're probably better off with MegaSeg for Mac, or PCDJ for PC.