Meeting with client and other vendors at the same time

Open Discussion for Weddings and other Formal events: Photos, Videos and success stories are welcome! Ask questions and learn from the best.

Moderator: Dave Miller

Meeting with client and other vendors at the same time

Postby Joseph Ivy » Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:28 pm

You might now that this is my first year as a single Op. I just had a meeting with the first clients to book me for their wedding. The meeting was at the venue. There caterer, a venue representative, and I all met the client at the same time.

The venue rep and caterer were each very talkative. They were asking a lot of questions and writing a lot of stuff down. They'd kind-of take turns, but they may have actually been interrupting each other. This part lasted about 45 minutes. In that time, I said three things. Each time, I was answering a direct question.

The 45 minute mark hit and the caterer and venue rep each went their own way. At that point, I moved myself next to the clients and had their undivided attention for another 45 minutes as we talked about the timeline and went over ideas to make a boring crowd have fun.

My question is, do you think I handled this well? Should I have tried to talk more when the other vendors were there? Do you normally end up in the same meeting as other vendors? How do the other vendors tend to treat you?

Thanks in advance to everyone who replies. :)
I think I am right. You think that you are right. I suggest that we figure out which one of us is wrong.
Joseph Ivy

Postby Bryan Durio » Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:47 am

It's hard to get a word in edgewise in that type of situation. It can be a good thing, though, in that the other vendors will probably ask the same questions that you would. Just take copious notes, insert a comment or question whenever you see an opening, and after the other vendors have finished, ask any unanswered questions that you have left.